Those first asparagus

Asparagus

Asparagus are one of my favorite foods, and I eagerly await their arrival in spring. Except, until very recently I wasn’t sure when that would be and the season would often be just three or four weeks for me. But now I know that Dutch asparagus go on sale from the second Thursday in April (it’s tradition, you see) so I was ready to pounce the first weekend. I draped the white stems in melted gruyere and a little stream of melted butter and hoo boy, were they ever worth the wait.

Leave a comment

Filed under vegetables

Leave a Reply

