Potato herring salad

Potato herring salad

Potato herring salad

Ducky´s arrival has turned me into a potato eater. Or nearer to one than I have ever been, because I want to show her it is possible. It seems so useful for a Dutch baby, appreciating potatoes. And so I peel and I boil and I eat. I’m not quite there yet, but tolerance is nigh. This salad, for instance, I would eat again. Although with strong flavors like dill, raw onion, sweet-sour apple and pungent herring, I am not sure I actually tasted the offending orbs. But, eh. Baby steps for the baby.

 

Potato herring salad

From Koken met Sylvia Witteman, slightly adapted

Serves 3

  • 5 firm potatoes
  • 1 small cucumber
  • 1 onion
  • 1 apple
  • large bunch of dill
  • 125 gr sour cream
  • 50 gr natural yogurt
  • salt, pepper, sugar

Boil the potatoes in their peel. When cooked, drain and pull off the skin. Cut into small cubes. Peel the cucumber, scrape seeds out and slice the flesh into small cubes as well. Peel and dice the onion. Peel, core and dice the apple. Cut the herring into smallish chunks. Mix potatoes, cucumber, onion, apple and herring in a large bowl.

Chop the dill finely. Mix the sour cream with the yogurt and dill, season with salt, pepper and a small pinch of sugar. Pour over the ingredients in the bowl and gently fold in. Leave for thirty minutes for the flavors to get acquainted.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fish, Salads

Leave a Reply

