Caesar’s Salad Dressing

Caesar's salad

Caesar’s salad

Over the past few days, at least half the contents of our Walk-In Closet of Stuff and the entire contents of my wardrobe have gone through my hands. I have sorted, folded, wiped down, discarded. And then discarded some more, because hoo boy, is there ever a lot of superfluousness when you merge the contents of two live-in shoeboxes.

I am happy to report I no longer own three near-identical round cake pans and I can get to my wok again. Also, my shoulders are sore and my left knee is sending out stabby pains. Clearly, speed and simplicity were of the essence when it came to dinner.

It does not get much simpler than sprinkling a few Portobello mushrooms with oil and chucking them under a hot grill, to be served on crusty rolls. While they were cooking, I sliced and fried two onions for garnish. As for the dressing for the romaine lettuce to go on the side, that is where SmittenKitchen came in. I mixed up Deb’s Caesar’s salad dressing by adding a small, pressed clove of garlic, a little lemon juice, a few good shakes of Worcestershire sauce, ½ tsp of mustard, four chopped up anchovies and a generous pour of olive oil to two tablespoons of mayonnaise. A little hot water thinned the dressing for easy distribution and after grating a heap of parmesan on top of the dressed lettuce, my work was done, and rather deliciously too.

I wish I could say the same of the cleaning and sorting, but alas. Next up: the book case and an overflowing cutlery drawer.

Leave a comment

Filed under Salads

Leave a Reply

