Cauliflower with tomatoes and cumin

Cauliflower dinner

Cauliflower dinner

Since Ducky showed up, I have grown a large number of soft spots. I constantly want to drop kisses on her squishy cheeks and, as my mom says, “I just have to smile every time I look at her”. I have cheered at the television for a fallen baby foal to “get up, little one, get up!” A budding plant got me misty eyed, because oh no, it might freeze and then the buds will die. Die! The other day, I came home from the store with a cauliflower, because it was so adorably small and plump.

I don’t like cauliflower.

But one must not waste precious baby vegetables, so to my cook books I turned. I first flipped to a winter tabouleh with cauliflower in Casa Moro, but alas. The tabouleh required pomegranate molasses. I threw out a five-year-old, twice-used bottle shortly before and was not keen to acquire another. Ducky not only gives me soft spots, her things take up an inordinate amount of shoebox space and I try to keep the rest of our stuff to essentials.

So the tabouleh was out, but Casa Moro supplied another idea: cauliflower salad with tomato and cumin. Calling for ingredients that were already in my kitchen (once I’d decided to switch in canned tomatoes for fresh ones, because winter), it spelled the end for the cute cauliflower. I chopped it into little florets, simmered them in a cumin-heavy tomato sauce for ten minutes and served them with some sausages and bread. And you know what? I think I liked this dinner better than the rich, indulgent, soggy cheese pie.

Not a bad way to go, for a small cauliflower.

Cauliflower with tomatoes and cumin

Based on a Casa Moro recipe, serves 2

  • 1 small cauliflower, broken into florets
  • 1 can of tomatoes
  • 1/2 tsp cumin seeds
  • 1 small onion, diced finely
  • 2 cloves of garlic, pressed
  • A little oil

Sweat the onion in the oil with a little salt, until it is soft. Add the garlic and cook for a minute or so, until you can smell the garlic. Meanwhile, drain the tomatoes and roughly chop them. When the onion and garlic are ready for them, tip the tomatoes into the pan, along with the cumin seeds. Simmer for five minutes to meld the flavors, then toss the cauliflower into the pan and mix well. Reduce the heat to low and smmer for about ten minutes, until the cauliflower is tender but still has bite. Leave to cool for a little while and serve warm or at room temperature.

Leave a comment

Filed under vegetables

Leave a Reply

