Roasted corn salad

Corn in the foreground

Today I had a serious Bridget Jones moment. Of the “fuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuck” variety. It wasn’t quite as horrific as being caught by my boss while lying to his face (“The F.R. Leavis who died in 1978?”), but hoo lord, did I not make friends. Voices were raised, eyebrows frowned and phones slammed down unceremoniously. I tell you, it took all I had not to run to the supermarket for serious emergency calorie consumption. Instead, I crashed my head on my desk and then pretended everything was peachy when my neighbor came to check I was alright.

Some days, I wish I liked alcohol. Because, people, I need a drink.

Given the wedding dress, and the fact that I have to fit into it in three short weeks (three! I am not ready! I have no hairdresser! nor music to walk down the aisle to!), I guess I’ll settle for some corn. And with punchy, crunchy, cheesy corn like this, chocolate might not even be necessary afterwards.

Roasted corn salad

Based on a recipe found at WednesdayChef

Serves 2

  • 2 ears of corn, husks still on
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • two squirts of sriracha (or scant teaspoon of sambal)
  • pile of finely grated mature Gouda

Preheat oven to 230 degrees Celsius. Place the corn (with husks still on) in the oven and roast for about 15-20 minutes, or until kernels are crisp-tender.

Remove cooked corn from the oven, cool, husk and cut kernels from the cob over a large bowl. Squirt with sriracha, sprinkle with lemon juice, mix. Add the cheese and mix again. Serve. Forget awkward moments while you crunch.

2 Comments

Filed under Salads, vegetables

2 responses to “Roasted corn salad

  1. Manon

    You will be ready, don’t worry. I’ll have Jasmijn do your hair and sing a song for you if necessary. And with this discipline to eat corn (ok, with cheese) instead of chocolate, nothing can go wrong. Trust me. All you have to remember is to say ‘ yes’. At the right time of course.
    But what on earth did you do to make your poor head crash like that?!

  2. Pingback: Corn Salad to Remind Me | Shoebox Cooking

Leave a Reply

