Leek risotto for a bit of cool

Leek gorgonzola risotto

It appears I am not in the cool half of the population today. (Is it half?) On my ten-minute bike ride home, I met three separate people carrying a brightly colored barbecue. It looked like they were headed for the park and I was missing all the fun.

I have a colored barbecue, mind you. It is hot pink, which I think earns me some cool points. Although not carrying it to the park today mind might subtract from those. But I ask you: how much fun is a barbecue in the park by yourself?

So, risotto it was. A mildly cool risotto, actually, because it is a recipe from The Silver Spoon. And not just that, it is a recipe I don’t even have to look up anymore. No? Not getting me back to cool territory? How about this: the recipe tells you to stir cream into the risotto, and I substituted gorgonzola. Ka-boom!

Okay, okay. You’re right. Snooze. Even more so because the gorgonzola was absolutely substandard and the resulting risotto was okay at most. But. I am still convinced the idea is sound- leeks, soft rice, blue cheese… So I am giving you the recipe and urge you to try it with some good cheese. It ain’t no colored barbecue, but that’s a good meal right there.

Leek risotto with gorgonzola

Based on a recipe from The Silver Spoon

Serves 1 

  • 1 leek, white and light green parts only, rinsed thoroughly and chopped into thin half moons.
  • 20 gr butter
  • 75 gr risotto rice
  • about ½ litre hot vegetable or chicken stock
  • 60 gr gorgonzola dolce, cubed
  • small pile of grated parmesan

Melt the butter in a heavy-bottomed pan and add the leek slivers when it is hot. Stir and cook until the leek has wilted. Add a splash of water, cover the pan and cook for five minutes or so, until soft. When the leek is soft, add the rice, and stir to moisten all grains. Cook for two minutes, until the rice ir translucent. Add a ladle full of hot stock, and stir until all liquid has been absorbed. Repeat until the rice is cooked but retains some bite. You might need more than ½ litre of stock, depending on your rice.

When the rice is cooked, add the parmesan and gorgonzola to the pan, cover and leave for a few minutes. After a few minutes the cheese should have melted; stir it into the rice and serve hot.

2 Comments

Filed under Pasta and rice

2 responses to “Leek risotto for a bit of cool

  1. Harry WRC

    I guess cooking a recipe from AllerHande is NOT cool, but still it was nice. We had Pasta al forno yesterday and it was really nice. Specially as I had such a lovely cook preparing it :-). Being a risotto freak It’s a pity your recipe is only for one person. Or should I perhaps double te ingredients for 2? And about bbq’s We had ONE this year. But the next is due on September 10. Hiping for excellent weather then!

  2. Harry WRC

    Of course I hope for good weather, not hipe… 🙂

Leave a Reply

