Pasta with tomatoes and mozzarella

Please meet the perfect summer dinner. 

Pasta sugo crudo

Temperatures in my Amsterdam shoebox soar in summer, often topping 30 degrees Celsius. While this is good in many respects (gorgeous light through many windows! flimsy clothing is sufficient! long nights on a sun-drenched balcony!), it means cooking moves down the list of pleasant activities during warmer months. But a person still needs to eat, which is where this lovely pasta comes in handy.

Since it has been a few years since I found the recipe for pasta al sugo crudo, I am a bit hazy on its road into my life. I am guessing it was Nigella Lawson who showed me the way, as is so often the case. I cannot be sure, but it has turned into this dinner routine:

I cut tomatoes into small bits, add chopped mozzarella and mix in some oil and salt. Then I put a pan of water on the stove, and escape to the balcony until it boils. When it does, I add pasta, time it and escape to the balcony again, neatly minimizing the time I am standing around a hot kitchen with a pot of boiling water for company. After the pasta has softened to al dente, I step back inside and drain it, then mix in the tomatoes and mozzarella. As a finishing touch, I tear some basil into strips and add them to the pasta. And with that, and a maximum of 15 minutes inside-time (including dicing the tomatoes and cheese), a delicious dinner is born.

2 Comments

Filed under My Man Cooks, Pasta, Pasta and rice

2 responses to “Pasta with tomatoes and mozzarella

  1. Bart

    Summertime, and the food is easy…

  2. B art, you’re back! Yay!

Leave a Reply

