Easiest tomato soup

Tomato soup

After a day and a half languishing on the couch, napping off an unpleasant bout of almost-flu, I wanted a change. Hanging about wasn’t making me feel any better, and all the sugar I was putting in my mouth (licorice for a sore throat, mints for sinus clearing, chocolate for mood improvement) probably wasn’t doing much for my well-being either. I wanted real food.

Up popped an image in my mind of a recent episode of The Big Bang Theory, in which Sheldon whines for grilled cheese to make him feel better. Yes, crispy bread and melty cheese was just the thing. And the grilled cheese had to be accompanied by tomato soup. I think this must be more evidence of the influence of American (maybe British?) media in my life, because I cannot remember seeing grilled cheese and tomato soup as an inevitable combination until very recently. Still, I wanted them now, so a trek to the supermarket was in order.

Grilled cheese

I came back with two tins of tomatoes, half a loaf of bread and a pack of chocolate-caramel waffles. No idea how that last one sneaked in. I combined the tomatoes with garlic, Worcestershire sauce and Tabasco and cream and the bread with a pile of cheese. Some heat and not more than twenty minutes later, I was biting into a warm meal, and starting to feel just a little human again.

Easiest tomato soup

Serves 3-4

  • 2 tins of peeled tomatoes
  • 1 large clove of garlic, pressed
  • a few shakes of Worcestershire sauce
  • a few shakes of Tabasco
  • 250 ml vegetable stock
  • pinch of sugar (optional)
  • 4 tbsp mascarpone
  • splash of olive oil

Splash the olive oil into a soup pot and add the pressed garlic. Warm over medium heat until the garlic starts to color. Add the tomatoes and their juice, Worcestershire sauce, Tabasco and stock. Taste the tomatoes, and add a tiny bit of sugar if they seem too sour. Simmer for fifteen minutes or so, until the tomatoes are starting to break up and mixture is hot.

Add mascarpone and blend soup with a stick blender until smooth. Serve (or leave until later for reheating and serving, this soup is easy in more than one way).

Leave a comment

Filed under Easy Sundays, Soup

Leave a Reply

