Yes (red cabbage salad with lemon and parmesan)

Red cabbage salad

Bam. Right between the eyes. I am lying on the couch, ostensibly surfing the internet, but really just moping about how I spent a day solving problems that weren’t really problems. “Why don’t you keep your first world sulking out of my face, thank you very much?” I click a link and read about a 6 year old who loved fire fighters. And then he passed away.

Reality check. And just in time, too. I might have slunk off to bed feeling sorry for myself, instead of coming here to celebrate. Celebrate what I have (and what I thank every known deity for not having) and hang with you. Tell you about a salad, maybe.

First time I made this salad from Molly Wizenberg’s book A Homemade Life, I used white cabbage. It was lovely, lovely, lovely. I didn’t write about it here, though, because I wanted to try the original version with red cabbage first. So I did, and it wasn’t just seriously tasty, but also beautiful.

Red cabbage has a surprising kick when eaten raw. That edge of spiciness is softened by the parmesan in the dressing, livened up with lemon juice and complemented by the silkiness of the olive oil and the gutsiness of the garlic. It is going to sound more than a tad dramatic, but I think this classy, bold salad is a gorgeous way of celebrating life.

Bam. Right between the lips.

Red Cabbage Salad with Parmesan and Lemon

Adapted from A Homemade Life, Molly Wizenberg 

Serves 2

  • ¼ small red cabbage
  • juice of half a lemon
  • small clove of garlic, pressed
  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tbsp finely grated parmesan, or more to taste
  • salt
  • freshly ground black pepper

Stir together the lemon juice, a generous pinch of salt, garlic and olive oil. Set aside. Cut the white core from the cabbage and finely shred the leaves. Toss the cabbage ribbons with about half the dressing and taste. Add more until it tastes as bold as you want it to. Add the parmesan and freshly ground black pepper and toss well. Taste, adjust salt, cheese, pepper until it’s good enough for a celebration. Serve.

Leave a comment

Filed under Salads, vegetables

Leave a Reply

