Getting There With the Bundt

Apple orange Bundt cake

All manner of baked goods are welcome in my oven: bread, cookies, cake, quiche- I am an equal opportunity baker. Circumstance often directs me towards cookies, though: they are easier to transport, easier to share at casual gatherings (no need for knife, plates, forks, napkins, all of which are in short supply in the meeting rooms I often give out my sweets in) and have a longer shelf life than most cakes. Nothing wrong with that, but it isn’t the quickest way to all-round baking prowess. So, every now and again I try to branch out.

My biggest challenge in the branching out department is the Bundt cake. I love the idea of baking a ring-shaped, ridged beauty and dusting it with powdered sugar so it comes out looking like the movie star among cakes. In practice, however, mine end up looking like what you see above. And that’s on a good day.

Once, I overfilled my pan so badly the cake started oozing batter from its top after about five minutes in the oven and never stopped. Not even when it had baked twice as long as the recipe indicated (I gave up at that point, ripped open a package of store-bought stroopwafels and called it dessert). At other times I have overbaked so badly that the cake would not budge from the pan without a soak in hot, soapy water or had half a cake come out of the pan, with the other half of the cake clinging to the Bundt like it had abandonment issues.

Not to be deterred, I keep trying. That most recent creation up there is an apple-orange Bundt cake I made to bring to the man’s parents’ house. These are v. sweet people, who would have second helpings even if I’d burned it to a crisp, just to be polite. Still, when I surveyed my efforts before packing up the cake, I almost decided to leave it at home. It ain’t a pretty sight, is it? But then I tasted one of the bits that fell off, and changed my mind. This apple cake is moist, full of apple pieces and just the right level of sweet. I added the zest of half an orange along with the orange juice, upping the intrigue the orange flavor lends to the batter- my first right Bundt decision ever. I take this as a good sign, and one saying I should keep going.

Next time, I might even figure out how to get the cake out of the pan in one piece. 

Apple Bundt Cake

I tweaked the original recipe (found on www.designspongeonline.com) a little, adding orange zest, leaving out walnuts and adding fewer apples than called for, then mixing them in with the batter instead of making layers. Below is the recipe with my tweaks. Also, I could easily fill my Bundt pan plus a round cake pan with the amount of batter the recipe creates. Probably best to check the size of your pan corresponds to the size in the recipe, and have an extra pan ready to take left-overs.

5 apples, peeled and cut into chunks

1 tbsp white sugar

1 tsp ground cinnamon

375 g flour

15 g baking powder

generous pinch of salt

400g white sugar

240 ml vegetable oil

juice from 1 orange

zest from ½ orange

2 ½ tsp vanilla extract

4 eggs

powdered sugar for dusting

Preheat oven to 180C degrees. Grease and flour a 26CM Bundt pan. Combine the apple pieces  with 1 tbsp sugar, and the cinnamon. In a second bowl, mix the flour, baking powder, and salt.

In a separate container, combine sugar, oil, orange juice, orange zest, vanilla, and eggs. Beat at high speed until smooth, then stir in the flour mixture. Fold in the apple pieces. Pour the batter into the Bundt pan and bake for 55 to 60 minutes, or until a cake tester inserted in the middle comes out clean. Let cool in pan for 10 minutes then turn out.

3 Comments

Filed under Pies and cakes, Uncategorized

3 responses to “Getting There With the Bundt

  1. Manon

    So, where is the powdered sugar? That might easily mask the unequal surfaces. My personal trick lately: having our little one decorate the cake. Which results in a lots of oohs and aaahs for decoration, not noticing the rest until the taste comes. And with cake, taste is always a good thing, ain’t it?

  2. L.

    Have you been speaking to my mom? “Tell her a beautiful girl is good for decorating cakes, she will want one!” Or just ko-in-ki-dink?

  3. Manon

    Damn, discovered at the very first move… Yes of course it’s a conspiracy.

    And hey, can you blame me? After meeting my girl, a proud mom can never see why you wouldn’t want to have such a special decorating center of your own. Except, I should add, that I already have the cutest one, so the impossibility of improving that might indeed discourage others. Or so. And so on.

    Can I now taste some of the baking soon? 🙂

Leave a Reply

