New House Guest (chewy chocolate chip cookies)

Chewy chocolate cookie

Look what has come to live with me!

My new house guest

After years of trawling the internet, looking for the rare, affordable KitchenAid mixer, I found it. Not on the web, but in a cooking equipment store that was going out of business. *grin grin* (Not *grin grin* for them, obviously. I feel bad for them. Also, however, feel good for self.)

My beauty has served time in a cooking school, but reportedly did not see much action there. I am not sure how true that is, given the scratches on the inside of the bowl. Regardless, its white coat of paint is still nearly flawless, its attachments fit seamlessly and its mixing is effortless.

A lot of cookie plans float through my head these days, inspired by my white buddy. It seems almost criminal to have a gleaming mixer just stand there, looking pretty but not getting anything accomplished. Imagine how forlorn it must feel, having its awesome power neglected, me drooling over it for nothing but its looks. It would be enough to have any supple-engined mixer start a strike. No, no, cookies it has to be.

On its inaugural run, I put the KitchenAid to work on the compost cookies on Adam Roberts’ website. It was a beautiful thing to behold, this powerful machine doing my work for me for ten minutes straight. Unfortunately, something was off between me and the recipe, because I produced nearly burned, flat, crackly cookies. Okay, but certainly nothing more than that. A second batch spent a far shorter time in the oven, but still came out flat and mostly crisp, rather than puffy. I see David Lebovitz had the same problem, so maybe my unfrozen baking sheets or European flour were the problem. Will try a different type of flour soon.

Unbaked cookie dough

When selecting cookies to bring to a friend’s house yesterday, though, I picked a different recipe: chewy chocolate-chocolate chunk cookies, found at Confections of a Foodie Bride. They take less mixing, so the KitchenAid might have been a bit disappointed, but I was definitely not. Man, these were good. Intense chocolate flavour, sweet chocolate chips, chewy texture with crisp edges. They taste like the ludicrously expensive, insanely good triple chocolate cookies at Albert Heijn To Go. And even though that might not sound like praise, believe me, it is. These are the cookies I have wanted to bake for years, but never got quite right. Now, with the help of my white friend, I have.

KitchenAid and chocolate cookie dough

Follow along with what I did below, or find the original recipe here.

Chewy chocolate- chocolate chip cookies

Yield: 16 modestly-sized cookies

1 1/4 cups flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
2/3 cup Dutch-process cocoa
1/2 cup butter, room temperature
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 cup dark brown sugar
1 1/2 tsp vanilla
1/3 cup milk
1 1/2 cups chopped chocolate (I used semi-sweet chocolate, but think white chocolate would have been even better.)

No need to cube your butter if you are using a KitchenAid: just toss the butter in the bowl, add the sugars and mix on medium speed until creamed. Then add vanilla, and mix until incorporated.

In a separate bowl, mix the flour with baking powder, salt and cocoa. Tip half of the mixture into the creamed butter, and mix on low speed (so as to prevent a cocoa storm- I learned the dusty way) until just incorporated. Add the milk, mix again, then add the second half of the flour mixture and mix until just incorporated. Scrape down the bowl, add chocolate pieces and mix briefly.

Chill the dough for at least twenty minutes, while you pre-heat the oven to 180 degrees Celsius. Divide dough into roughly shaped balls the size of a small egg. Place on a baking sheet covered with parchment or silicone, with plenty of space for spreading. Bake for twelve minutes, or until dough is cookie-shaped and mostly firm. Leave to cool on the sheet for ten minutes before removing to a wire rack to cool completely.

1 Comment

Filed under Cookies, Koek en zopie

One response to “New House Guest (chewy chocolate chip cookies)

  1. Harry van veenendaal

    What about your man, he is not the jealous type I hope?

Leave a Reply

